Allegiant (2016)

Like all book-to-film series, the viewers fall into 1 of 2 categories; loyal to the story from reading the books or they have signed up to watching a series without any prior knowledge to the story. I am part of the latter group. As I sat in the cinema watching film 3 of 4, I couldn’t help but think ‘phew’ we are almost there…whilst chowing down on a large portion of popcorn…’oops’.

I am massively against chopping a story in half to make a few extra bucks at the box office (a cool $37.2m during opening weekend vs $110m budget, was it really worth it?). The main reason for this is the painful tripe you have to sit through- always with the pre-finale film.

If I’m honest, out of all of the first half of a finale book-to-film; The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn – Part 2 , Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1 , The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1 this by far has been the worst.

The entire story so far depicts how Chicago are desperate to free themselves from their chains of factions and the isolation the wall brings.

Tris (Shailene Woodley) overcame all barriers placed in front of her almost single-handedly and created a new world for all. You would think this new world would consist of order, peace and freedom. Everyone knows, when one leader steps down, one must take its place (better the devil you know comes to mind).

The entirety of the film we witness the new leader make the same mistakes as Jeanine (Kate Winslet). Posing the question; in this post apocalyptic world, are humans still in the position of not being able to learn from history?

When Tris, Four (Theo James) and their faithful gang make it beyond the wall they find exactly what you would expect. The people who put them in there. I will give you one guess at to whether they are good guys or bad guys? I mean at the end of the day they did segregate an entire population of people who where a little different from everyone else and lock them in essentially a huge prison for generations…

After all this time of trying to get beyond the wall, the gang turns right back around and heads back to Chicago to try and save the world. Again.

I have been a huge fan of Shailene Woodley and Ansel Elgort from their previous film allegiant-bannerThe Fault in Our Stars (2014) (in which case I fell into category 1; book crazed fan).
However, Allegiant has made me question their acting abilities. I felt nothing for the characters and if anything they felt nothing for the characters they were depicting. Where is the passion, the love, the hate and the guilt? 4 essential things you need in any film, but when your character has been written in book form you really need to step up your game! Your fans need you!

Allegiant-5-Miles-TellerThe stand out for this film was definitely Peter (Miles Teller). He carried his character well even if he is a bad guy (we all hate to love).

I suppose the success to this film is the story has left me questioning how this series will end?

As mentioned I’m quite glad I haven’t read the books as I feel with the passionless acting, spiralling story and (to be frank) bored feeling of not only myself but everyone in the theatre, I may have given up before the finale…

Rating:

starstar– I mean….really?

Star of the show:

Miles Teller

Please note; I do not own copyright to any to the photographs used.
Using copyright works fact sheet from the UK Copyright Service.
3 thoughts on “Allegiant (2016)

Leave a Reply

