The Secret Life of Pets (2016)

Ok so its time for the big blunder to be revisited. I originally posted this blog with a lot of incorrect information (lets blame the tequila the night before…) lets hope this time it all makes sense…

The long awaited new animation from Universal has finally made it to our screens The Secret Life of Pets (2016).

Lets start with the positives, the Pets. The wide selection of animals used was incredible. The movements, the actions, the personalities where all perfect down to a T. The actions of each individual pet reflected their personalities of each real life breed and I thought that was fantastic. Buddy (Hannibal Buress) was by far my favourite character. I could be being bias as I do own 2 miniature Dachshunds. The reason I loved Buddy was because I know inside and out all of the characteristics of a Dachshund, and I couldn’t believe the detail they went to on screen to reflect that personality. This attention to detail really was perfect. 

All of the effort and perfection of the little details and the characters I feel were overshadowed by the story. Universal Studios have set a high bar with strong comedic value no matter what the age of the audience. This story didn’t deliver on this expected humour. It was much more of a slapstick olden day movie than new age comedy.

As much as the characters were lovable, I feel like the movie poured all its hopes into that, the pretty colours and the cute characters. This left the story line which much to desire, very predictable and lacked emotional response.

If you have a young child who loves colours and animation, I would say go for it! You may even enjoy seeing the characters yourself like I did. But I wouldn’t go into watching this movie and expect a good story line…. quite a disappointment unfortunately.

Rating:

starstarstar– I enjoyed it. Its watchable, however very far down the ‘watch again’ list

Star of the show:

Hannibal Buress

Please note; I do not own copyright to any to the photographs used.
Using copyright works fact sheet from the UK Copyright Service.

 

 

One thought on “The Secret Life of Pets (2016)

Leave a Reply

